Banbury Constituency Labour Party

Elections and Candidates

Calendar of Elections

Cherwell District Council Elections Thursday 2 May 2019

Our Candidates:

North Oxfordshire Villages

Suzette Watson. Adderbury, Bloxham and Bodicote Ward.

Annette Murphy, Deddington Ward

Anne Cullen, Cropredy, Sibfords and Wroxton Ward

Banbury Town

Phil Richards – Banbury Calthorpe & Easington

Perran Moon – Banbury Grimsbury & Hightown

Hannah Banfield – Banbury Cross & Neithrop

Sean Woodcock – Banbury Ruscote

Blue Watson – Banbury Hardwick


Celia Kavuma – Bicester East

Margaret Lyon – Bicester North & Caversfield

Marcus English – Bicester South & Ambrosden

John Melrose – Bicester West


John Stansby – Kidlington East

Chuk Okeke – Kidlington West

Michael Nixon – Launton & Otmoor

Banbury Town Council by-election 2 May 2019

To contest a vacant seat:

Naveed Anwar – Hardwick West


Thursday 3 May 2018 – Cherwell District Council Elections


Our Candidates:


Barry Richards – Banbury Ruscote

Shaida Hussain – Banbury Grimsbury & Hightown

Cassi Perry – Banbury Cross & Neithrop

Perran Moon – Banbury Hardwick

Antonio Ferrara – Banbury Calthorpe & Easington


Suzette Watson – Adderbury, Bloxham & Bodicote

Anne Cullen – Cropredy, Sibfords & Wroxton

Sue Moon – Cropredy, Sibfords & Wroxton

Annette Murphy – Deddington


Robby Prior – Fringford & Heyfords

Mike Nixon – Launton & Otmoor

Margaret Lyon – Bicester North & Caversfield

Marcus English – Bicester South & Ambrosden

Celia Kavuma – Bicester East

Stuart Moss – Bicester West

Thursday May 4th 2017 – County Council Elections

Banbury and Bicester Labour Party hold Grimsbury & Castle and Ruscote

With all votes counted the Conservatives are one seat short of an overall majority, but with Independents joing them they will continue to hold power.

Election results by party
Party name Seats won % of votes
The Conservative Party Candidate 31 41%
Liberal Democrats 13 25%
Labour Party 11 17%
Independent 4 3%
Labour & Co-operative Party 3 4%
Henley Residents Group 1 < 1%
Green Party 0 7%
UK Independence Party (UKIP) 0 < 1%
Turnout: 33%



Banbury Grimsbury & Castle
Election Candidate Party Votes %
Hannah Louise Banfield Labour Party 1098 48% Elected
Paul Austin Sargent The Conservative Party Candidate 819 36%
Dave Wiles Liberal Democrats 148 6%
Jason Williams UK Independence Party (UKIP) 113 5%
Jack Arthur Barton Green Party 101 4%
Banbury Ruscote
Mark David Cherry Labour & Co-operative Party 1194 58% Elected
David Frederick Beverly The Conservative Party Candidate 574 28%
Linda Michelle Wren UK Independence Party (UKIP) 125 6%
Bette Melling Liberal Democrats 86 4%
Christopher John Manley Green Party 68 3%


Our commiserations to Joe Walsh (Banbury Calthorpe) and Surinder Dhesi (Banbury Hardwick) who fought hard campaigns, with Surinder losing by only 55 votes.

22 September 2016

A by-election was called following the resignation of Conservative Councillor Nigel Randall. Sue Christie is standing as Labour’s candidate.

5 May 2016 – Cherwell District Council Elections

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has reduced the council’s existing 28 wards to create a total of 16 wards across the district, each of which would be represented by three councillors, giving a total of 48. The whole council was therefore up for re-election on May 5th. There were also elections for all seats in Banbury Town Council and two seats in Bicester Town Council.

We maintained our position with 8 District Councillors and 10 Banbury Town Councillors elected.

Full results

1 October 2015 – Grimsbury & Castle by-election

In the Grimsbury & Castle by-election Claire Bell and Shaida Hussain won District and Town council seats from the Conservatives with a 6% swing. We now have 8 Cherwell District Councillors.

The by-election was called after the death of Conservative councillor Ann Bonner.

7 May 2015   – General Election, Cherwell District Council and Bicester Town Council Elections

Mark Cherry held Banbury Ruscote and Andy Beere held Grimsbury and Castle. See full results.

General Election results

22 May 2014 – Cherwell District Council Elections

Matt Johnstone (Banbury Neithrop), Barry Richards (Ruscote) and Claire Bell (Grimsbury & Castle) were duly elected to the District Council today 23 May, which means Labour now have seven seats on the Council, an increase of two. Barry Richards was also elected as Town Councillor for Ruscote, a Labour hold.

There are 50 District Councillors on Cherwell District Council, representing 28 wards in the Banbury Constituency. They decide how the many functions of the Council are carried out. Each of the Councillors is elected for a 4 year term.  A third of council members are up for election each year with a County Council Election every fourth year.

Cherwell District Council is now made up of 7 Labour Councillors, 4o Conservative Councillors, 2 Lib Dem Councillors and 1 Independent.

European Parliamentary Elections 22 May 2014

Anneliese Dodds was elected MEP for the South East region.

The United Kingdom uses the continental system for the election of Members of the European Parliament (rather than individual constituencies choosing candidates as for Westminster).  In this system, each political party produces a full list of candidates to fill all the vacancies in the constituency, which is the South East constituency and stretches from Kent to Oxfordshire.  When the votes are counted the seats are distributed in proportion to the overall number votes for each party (not each candidate) within the whole region.

Town Council Elections

On 3rd May 2012 the Banbury Town Council election was held. To find out the results of this election, click here.